pokemon-go-press-conference (1)

Pokémon’s 20th anniversary is almost upon us, and while we still don’t know when Pokémon GO will be released, we might not have much longer to wait for news.

The festivities begin on Friday, February 26, one day ahead of the anniversary. Nintendo is holding a special Pokémon-themed Nintendo Direct at 7 AM PT/10 AM ET.

According to sources that have seen the Japanese announcement, this Direct will only last 5 minutes. That’s too short to expect much news, but it’s the perfect amount of time to include a quick Pokémon GO trailer with a release date at the end—although at this point, fans might be happy to just be told the date.

If the release date isn’t announced then, we still have one more chance this weekend, because February 27 is Pokémon Day.

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Pokémon series, there will be many official events all day long. These include activities at Rockefeller Center in New York City, special giveaway promotions at certain retailers, and a live stream from the official Pokémon channel through Twitch.

The live stream event will begin at 7 AM PT/10 AM ET on February 27. At 3 PM PT/6 PM ET, it will switch to a 24-hour marathon of the show and movies, but what will occur in between? Among all of the promised “Pokémon discussion, gameplay, interviews, and other Pokémon coverage,” could we learn a release date for Pokémon GO?

Pokémon GO has been referenced alongside the 20th anniversary many times. With so many Pokémon activities planned for this weekend, it seems likely we’ll finally learn the release date. Do you think we will? And when do you think Pokémon GO will become available?